top of page

Before taking decisions / Suman Pokhrel


In how many minds

Should I go crazy?

Whom should I ask?

Should I continue to hop

Like drops

That jump up

After water

Flowing from spout

Hits the ground,

Or remain transfixed

Like stone under the selfsame spout

That despite being lashed

By incessant flow

Does not even budge?

Which eyes should I look for

To find the ultimate

Unreasoned answer?

Or

Should I ask everyone the question

That should not have been asked?

Or Should I

Turning up to the sky

Be answering the question

That’s not been asked?

In this atmosphere

Where you have to go

Perennially crazy

Only to survive,

Which auspicious moment

Should I choose to become mad?

I didn’t ask any head

Like core of lapsi[1]fruit

Hiding no seed inside,

Didn’t ask for auspicious moment

To a judgement like leaves of taanki[2]tree.

Dew drop as always

Was revelling all night with flower

Taking taste of alcohol,

Naked morning sunray too

Was making worship

After diving in the river.

That effervescence

Finished after a short while

Like cotton fleece ultimately

Turning into cloud.

Without asking anybody’s advice

I turned myself insane

Sitting under the same sun

And the same clouds.

I believed all along

One day

Everyone would go mad

Just to see me sane.

...................................................................................

[1] Nepali hog plum of the mountainous region.

[2] A common Nepali fodder tree.

..............................................................................................

Suman Pokhrel translated into English by Abhi Subedi

............................................................................................

Read the original Nepali of this poem here

.........................................................................

Related Posts

See All

वा र अथवा या कविता / सुमन पोखरेल

मैले लेख्न शुरू गरेको, र तपाईँले पढ्न थाल्नुभएको अक्षरहरूको यो थुप्रो एउटा कविता हो । मैले भोलि अभिव्यक्त गर्ने, र तपाईँले मन लगाएर वा करैले, पूरा वा आधा सुन्नुहुने, अथवा सुन्दै नसुन्नुहुने शब्दहरूक

Featured Posts
  • Suman Pokhrel
  • Suman Pokhrel
  • Suman Pokhrel
  • allpoetry
  • goodreads
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Suman Pokhrel
  • Suman Pokhrel
  • SoundCloud Social Icon
  • kavitakosh

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

bottom of page