top of page

You are as you are


Standing on some non-life fringe of life

embracing non-existent shape

like winds that stopped blowing,

I would be living in illusions

with fossils of life’s zest.

I would regard meanings

given by others so far

as refreshing boon,

I would still be enamoured of rose

or any heartless flower's smell

if tender tides of your affection

had not suffused

the pollens of my heart

with loving aroma.

modulations of my song,

images of my poetry,

my life story,

all would be making

a tedious dumb run

with no destination

sans beauty like

sultry gusts of drought

that flow over leafless treetops.

Sunrays would not descend

to lift my spirit

each morning

bringing life.

birds that fly singing for me

would not know

how to sing

filling their throats with love

welling up from heart.

My pleasures would escape

by climbing up empty times

thinking that is life

though not knowing

even half the mystery of love

not knowing

how melodious life is

if you had not demolished

shape of life’s rhythm sometimes

by gripping my heart

tender like love

so fragile that

even your softest words

could break it.

if you had not created

the scenography of life

with countless colourful plays

of your wishes

my desires would wither away

by making false explanations

of the beauty of Creation.

If you were not

what you are

shaped by my life’s melodies,

one who is standing

before you

overflowing with energy

carrying myriad desires

that would not be me.

............................................................................

Translated from Nepali by Prof Abhi Subedi

............................................................................

Related Posts

See All

वा र अथवा या कविता / सुमन पोखरेल

मैले लेख्न शुरू गरेको, र तपाईँले पढ्न थाल्नुभएको अक्षरहरूको यो थुप्रो एउटा कविता हो । मैले भोलि अभिव्यक्त गर्ने, र तपाईँले मन लगाएर वा करैले, पूरा वा आधा सुन्नुहुने, अथवा सुन्दै नसुन्नुहुने शब्दहरूक

Featured Posts
  • Suman Pokhrel
  • Suman Pokhrel
  • Suman Pokhrel
  • allpoetry
  • goodreads
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Suman Pokhrel
  • Suman Pokhrel
  • SoundCloud Social Icon
  • kavitakosh

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

bottom of page