top of page

Stone Age / Shubhalaxmi Lamsal


Shubhalakshmi Lamsal

I live the Stone Age

and seek the fire for living

by striking the pair of palaeoliths.

I get cactus to bloom, by carving my existence

right on stone,

and, I die a multiple times.

Making a fragile shed for shelter,

decorating its drip edges and gutters with desires;

I get trickling in the form of possession

I get seeping in the shape of mourning.

Wearing a mask of modernity

I, the human being,

live the stone age within me;

till date, I live carrying

the thinking, Paleolithic.

………………………….……………………………………….

(Translated from Nepali by Suman Pokhrel)

…………………………………………………………………..

Shubhalaxmi Lamsal translated into English by Suman Pokhrel

…………………………………………………………………………………………………….

This translation was published on Nepali Kalasahitya Dot Com and Asian Signature earlier.

Related Posts

See All

वा र अथवा या कविता / सुमन पोखरेल

मैले लेख्न शुरू गरेको, र तपाईँले पढ्न थाल्नुभएको अक्षरहरूको यो थुप्रो एउटा कविता हो । मैले भोलि अभिव्यक्त गर्ने, र तपाईँले मन लगाएर वा करैले, पूरा वा आधा सुन्नुहुने, अथवा सुन्दै नसुन्नुहुने शब्दहरूक

Featured Posts
  • Suman Pokhrel
  • Suman Pokhrel
  • Suman Pokhrel
  • allpoetry
  • goodreads
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Suman Pokhrel
  • Suman Pokhrel
  • SoundCloud Social Icon
  • kavitakosh

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

bottom of page